Hello, world

So, tomorrow I start orientation for med school, insha’allah (God willing). This essentially means that tomorrow, I start the career that will dictate the rest of my life.

I thought it’d be a good idea to start this blog with a picture of what I think my future will look like, while I’m still young and naive. Some demographic info:

  • Name: Mim (pronounced meeeem)
  • Age: 22
  • Ethnicity: Bangladeshi
  • Background: Born in Bangladesh, grew up in the US, lived in Canada since I was 9
  • Degree: Bachelor of Science, Biological Sciences major, English minor
  • Medical school: University of Alberta
  • Residency of choice: Right now I feel a strong personal interest in psychiatry, but I am also putting a lot of consideration into family med.
  • Favourite food: Nutella
  • Favourite dessert: Nutella
  • Interests: community activism, astrophysics, Islam, Harry Potter, spreading Nutella on things

This should provide you with an idea of who I am going in, but I am most certain that I will be a different person coming out of this program–which is a good thing, of course. Because what are we if we aren’t growing?

Except my interest in Nutella. That won’t change.

Leave a Reply

