The end of O-week

I’ve made it through Orientation (almost)! Today they actually went over the curriculum over the next four years and I gotta say, as overwhelming as it is, it’s also extremely refreshing. What a great reminder of the reason we’re going through all this. This was the session I’ve been waiting for all week–don’t give me the partying, the buddy-matching, the free lunches. This is what I’ve been waiting for: what training will I receive that will make me a physician? What courses will I take, how are the curricula designed? Most importantly, what are all the ways I can make a positive impact on the world?

They also told us about the Health Advocacy and Leadership program where you can take on a project under a mentor on any advocacy or leadership issue in your community or the world. Now that is something I’m interested in. I can imagine taking a project to address mental health needs in our community, especially in the South Asian community. As in, how they don’t even recognise mental illness as, you know, real or substantial in any way, shape, or form. And how huge of an problem that could be for a community mostly comprised of first generation immigrants. Oh, and their kids who are bound to be scarred for life if they develop something like depression or anxiety disorder.

Today was the first day I could honestly say I feel good about the profession I’m going into. Maybe it’s because it’s the first time I wasn’t harrassed to go to a club that night, or buy a shiny new stethoscope that I’ll never use to its full capacity, or do a bunch of really gropey team-building activities; but today honestly made me quite simply happy that I had chosen the profession I had, and the school I had (not that I had much “choice” in the matter being rejected from everything else…). I’m truly looking forward to doing useful, innovative things in my community because of the privilege and status that the MD provides, as fair or unfair as that is. And I’m definitely excited to embrace my role in this complex set of desks and paperwork and bureaucracy that we fondly call our healthcare system, knowing today just how much opportunity I’ll have to actually fix it.

Leave a Reply

