One big happy family

I realise my posts are getting progressively douchier. I should clarify: I like med school; I do not like med school hype. I like my classmates; I do not like the bit of ego problem we all have in this field, myself included. I like the profession; I do not like the misuse and exploitation of this profession. And I do not like green eggs and ham, I do not like them, Sam I Am.

Here’s some positive stuff, since all I seem to do is complain. I LOVE our Facebook group. People post funny stuff, which lets me know that they don’t take themselves too seriously. They post summaries of notes because they’re amazing students with amazing work ethics a million times better than mine, and they’re generous enough to share. They post beautiful heartwarming comments about one another, giving everyone a nickname or an attribute or some cute feature or another. I love how everyone introduces themselves to me when they take the seat next to me in lecture. I love how when the speaker the other day told us how we’d all start dating each other soon, we all looked around in disgust because we already feel like brother and sister. I love how people are still involved in volunteering and non-med stuff because that’s what makes them who they are. I love how candidly people put themselves on the line, asking for company to the gym or the movies because they don’t know other people in the city. That’s something I would never have the guts to do.

Because we finally are all in the same boat, and we sincerely want each and every one of our classmates to come out succeeding, and we want to hear success stories about the people in our year, and we want to be on the same team. Because we really are on the same team.

Leave a Reply

